Categories


 

 

Most Frequently Asked Questions


  • What is cord blood?

    Cord blood has significant medical value and be used widely in transplant medicine. Also, cord blood is regarded as "The First Gift" from God to a baby. Collecting cord blood is a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity at the time of delivery.

    In 1988, a 5-year-old French boy suffering from Fanconi's Anemia successfully received transplantation of his younger sister's cord blood, which was the first clinical application of cord blood and aroused worldwide enthusiasm about cord blood storage. At present, up to 113 diseases5,6 including cancers, blood-related, immunity and metabolic disorders can be treated by cord blood. There are also over 40,000 successful cord blood transplant cases over the world. Over 90 cord blood transplant cases were performed in Hong Kong, which included both children and adults.

    According to the guideline (February 2008 issue) of The American Congress of Obstetricians and Gynecologists2, doctors are recommended to provide balanced and accurate information of cord blood banking to expectant parents, as well as the advantages and disadvantages of public versus private cord blood banking. 27 states, cover 81% new born in U.S., even imposed legislations to mandate doctors to educate expectant parents about all forms of cord blood banking. It shows the importance of cord blood banking and its medical values.

  • What are the ways to store cord blood?

    There are two ways to store cord blood in Hong Kong, including private storage and public donation.

    • Private storage: Storing the cord blood at private cord blood bank for future transplantation use when needed.
    • Public donation: Donate the cord blood to Hong Kong Red Cross to help people in need. Applicable to specific hospital only.

    If neither private storage or public donation is chosen, the cord blood will be discarded as clinical waste.

  • What is the difference between cord blood and umbilical cord?

    Cord blood and umbilical blood contain two different stem cells which are widely adopted in different medical aspects. Cord blood is a rich source of HSCs which can create the blood and immune cells. Cancers, blood-related, immunity and metabolic diseases can be treated by cord blood. Umbilical cord is a rich source of MSCs which can create structural and connective tissues. Apart from minimizing GvHD in directed and unrelated allogeneic cord blood transplants, MSCs can apply to chronic illnesses treatment, regenerative medicines as well as organ and tissue engineering. Since cord blood and umbilical cord are rich sources of different types of stem cells, they may help to repair the body in different ways.
  • What disease can cord blood heal?

    Until June 2016, up to 113 diseases had been treated with cord blood transplants5,6. They could be divided into 7 categories, namely: Leukemia, Lymphomas, other Disorders of Blood Cell Proliferation, Inherited Disorders of Immune System, Inherited Metabolic Disorders, other Cancers and others.

    Detail about 113 treatable disease please refer to Diseases Treated by Cord Blood Transplantation.

  • Is it necessary to bank my second baby's cord blood if I had banked one for the first child?

    Storing every child's cord blood could provide the biggest guard to every child:

    • Every child's stem cell is unique. Although cord blood could treat 113 diseases5,6, some inherited diseases could not be treated by own cord blood. In this respect, siblings' (with consanguinity) cord blood is the most possible source to treat the disease.
    • Research shows that, 1 in 200 people by age 70 may need stem cells transplant4
    • Under the circumstance of twins, the needs to bank the cord blood (or umbilical cord) varied.Twins can be categorized into two main types: Identical twins (monozygotic) when a single fertilized egg splits into two genetically identical havles and non-identical twins (dizygotic) where two eggs are fertilized at the same time. For identical twins, their cord blood can be combined for storage as the twins are genetically idential. But for non-identical twins, as their genes are different, it is suggested to store their cord blood separately.
  • How many patients does HealthBaby treated by using cord blood?

    HealthBaby Group has already provided over 1,100 samples for global matching and assisted 43 patients for autologous / allogenic transplants (incl. HK public hospital), proving the expert storage and processing system to benefit the families worldwide.

    For more successful transplant case details, please refer to Most successful cord blood transplant cases in Hong Kong.

  • How to register HealthBaby's service?

    HealthBaby's cord blood and umbilical cord service regiratation is very simple:

    • Select service plan: HealthBaby offers different umbilical cord and cord blood storage plans to cater different expectant parents' needs. For more details, please contact HealthBaby consultant.
    • Registration: Please make appointment for registration (around 30-45mins) after the service plan is chosen.
    • Preparing collection kit: After the registration, HealthBaby consultant will provide a collection kit for you to bring along to hospital for doctor upon delivery.
    • Contact for delivery: Please call the HealthBaby hotline and we will arrange a dedicated staff to deliver the cord blood/umbilical cord from hospital to laboratory.

  • Why HealthBaby persists to use liquid nitrogen as the storage medium?

    Different from other private cord blood banks, HealthBaby persists to use the expensive liquid nitrogen (-196℃) as storage medium to provide the most quality cord blood and umbilical cord storage service. Using of liquid nitrogen (stable temperature at -196°C) as storage media, which is recommended by reports for long-term stem cells storage19,only liquid nitrogen can keep stable -196°C. Cord blood stem cells will suspend all physiological activities and remain dormant. On the contrary, reports show that vapor nitrogen and TWEs will reduce the stem cells viability by 20%26.

    One of the most critical determinant of transplantation success is stem cells viability. HealthBaby's adoption of liquid nitrogen as storage medium is the best guard to every parents.

  • Can the cord blood and umbilical cord be stored permanently?

    Stem cells will stop all physiological activities and remain dormant in -196℃ liquid nitrogen. Therefore, the stem cells can be permanently stored theoretically19. Professor Hal E. Broxmeyer (microbiology and immunology) is a pioneer who advocates of cord blood stem cells cryogenic storage. He proved that stem cells stored for years were still very regenerative, indicating that the stem cells stored in 1985 and 1986 could still be applied to patients for transplant33.

    On the contrary, there is no factual basis for the claim of stem cells being able to store permanently under -135℃. Noted that using the vapor nitrogen storage system would cause temperature fluctuation upon stem cells storage and thawing and seriously affect the viability of all samples' stem cells.

  • Will umbilical cord blood collection harm the mother and the baby?

    Cord blood collection is very simple and won't cause any harm to both mother and baby. Cord blood is collected after baby delivery and the umbilical cord has been clamped and cut, thus it is safe and causes no pain to the mother and baby.

    Please see Cord Blood Collection Process for detail steps of cord blood collection.

  • Can the cord blood and the umbilical cord be sent to overseas for transplantation?

    Every client's cord blood and umbilical cord usage is not limited to Hong Kong region. HealthBaby can send the cord blood and umbilical cord to overseas region as long it is legal at the destination.

    Please contact us for more details.

 

You may also be interested in...

選擇您想查詢的類別


 

 

最多人查詢的問題


  • 什麼是臍帶血?

    臍帶血具有重要醫療價值,可治療多種致命疾病並可廣泛移植應用。臍帶血更被歐美人士稱為上天送給寶寶的見面禮,一生只有一次收集的機會,若錯失便無法挽回。

    第一宗臍帶血移植手術於1988年進行,法國一名罹患范康尼氏貧血症(Fanconi's Anemia)的五歲男童,接受妹妹的臍帶血移植而治癒,引起全球對幹細胞醫療的關注。至今,臨床證實臍帶血可用作移植治療的疾病高達 113 種,常見的包括惡性腫瘤、血液、先天性免疫系統不全及代謝異常疾病等。目前全球共有超過 37,000 宗臍帶血移植案例;香港移植案例亦逐年遞升,至今已有超過 90 宗案例,其中包括兒童及成人個案。

    美國婦產科學會早於2008年2月已發出指引,建議婦產科醫生需向準父母提供儲存臍帶血的全面資料以及比較公立臍帶血儲存/私人臍帶血儲存的優點與缺點,28個州份(涵蓋全美81%初生嬰兒) 更通過立法要求醫生教育準父母所有臍帶血的儲存方式。由此可見臍帶血有重要醫療價值。

  • 有什麼途徑可以儲存臍帶血?

    目前香港儲存臍帶血的途徑可以歸納為私人儲存及公營捐贈兩種:

    • 私人儲存:將臍帶血存放於私營臍帶血庫,將來孩子或家庭成員不幸有需要使用時可直接提取並用作移植。
    • 公營捐贈:將臍帶血捐贈給香港紅十字會以幫助有需要的病人。只適用於指定醫院。

    若果選擇不作私人儲存或公營捐贈,於嬰兒出生後臍帶血便會被當作醫療廢物直接丟棄。

  • 儲存臍帶血及臍帶有什麼分別?

    臍帶血及臍帶內含兩種不同的幹細胞,被應用於不同的醫學領域上。臍帶血內蘊含豐富的造血幹細胞(HSCs),能分化成各種血液及免疫系統細胞,用於治療惡性腫瘤(癌症)、血液、免疫系統不全及代謝異常等疾病;而臍帶內則蘊含豐富的間質幹細胞(MSCs),除了可減低近親及異體臍帶血移植出現排斥的機會外,亦可用於治療後天的慢性疾病、器官老化及組織再生修復。因為兩者含有不同類型的幹細胞,所以專門修補人體的不同器官及組織。
  • 臍帶血可以醫治什麼疾病?

    直至 2016 年 6 月,臨床證實臍帶血可用作移植治療的疾病高達 種5,6,當中可以歸納為 7 大類別:白血病(俗稱血癌)、淋巴腫瘤、其他血細胞增殖疾病、遺傳性免疫系統疾病(所有治療為異體移植)、遺傳性代謝疾病、其他癌症及其他。

    有關 113 種疾病的詳細列表您亦可以瀏覽臍帶血可醫治的疾病

  • 我該為所有的孩子儲存臍帶血嗎?

    將所有孩子的臍帶血保存起來能給予每位孩子最大的保障:

    • 每位孩子所擁有的幹細胞都是獨特的,雖然臍帶血可醫治高達 113 種疾病5,6,但假若本身孩子所患的疾病屬遺傳性疾病便不能用自身的臍帶血作醫治。在這個時候,擁有血緣關係的兄弟姊妹所儲存的臍帶血便會有最大的機會可治療該疾病。
    • 研究指出,每 200 人,便有 1 人在 70 歲前有機會需要幹細胞移植4
    • 若果在雙胞胎的情況底下,因為雙胞胎可以分成同卵雙生和異卵雙生兩種,若果雙胞胎是同卵雙生,那麼兩個嬰兒的基因是一樣的,所以可以把兩份臍帶血儲存在一起;但若果是異卵雙生,那麼兩個嬰兒的基因便會有所差異,所以建議分開保存。
  • 生寶曾經利用臍帶血救治過多少病人?

    生寶集團至今已為全球提供超過 1,100 個樣本作配對,幫助 43 位患者接受異體及自體臍帶血幹細胞移植治療(包括香港公立醫院),儲存品質備受各地醫療機構認可,惠及世界各地家庭。

    有關生寶成功移植案例的資料可以瀏覽全港最多臍帶血成功移植案例

  • 如何登記生寶服務計劃?

    登記生寶臍帶及臍帶血儲存計劃非常簡單:

    • 選擇服務計劃:因應客戶的需求,生寶提供不同的服務計劃供您選擇。有關計劃詳情,可致電生寶專業顧問了解更多資料。
    • 服務登記:選擇服務計劃後,客戶可以致電予生寶專業顧問並預約進行登記手續,過程大約 30-45 分鐘。
    • 準備生寶盒:完成登記後,生寶專業顧問會把「生寶盒」交給您,請於分娩時帶同前往醫院並交予您的婦產科醫生。
    • 致電安排運送:分娩後,請致電生寶服務熱線,生寶將於收到電話後派出收血專員到醫院收取臍帶血(及臍帶)並送回實驗室處理。

  • 為何生寶堅持使用液態氮作儲存媒介?

    生寶有別於市面上的私營臍帶血庫,自開業以來一直堅持使用成本高昂的液態氮(-196°C)作儲存媒介,為每位父母提供優質的臍帶及臍帶血儲存服務。據文獻記載,幹細胞只有在恒溫液態氮才可處於休眠狀態作永久保存19;相反,研究指出氣態氮及短暫熱效應會減少幹細胞活性達 20%26

    移植成功與否其中一個重要因素是幹細胞的活性,生寶選擇以液態氮作儲存媒介是為了給每位父母最大的保障。

  • 臍帶血及臍帶可以永久儲存?

    在恆溫 -196℃ 液態氮中,幹細胞會停止一切生理活動並處於休眠狀態,因此理論上可以無限期保存19。Hal E. Broxmeyer,微生物學及免疫學教授是支持冷藏臍帶血的先駒者。他引証經多年冷藏的臍帶血幹細胞仍有極高的復生能力,表明於 1985 和 1986 年冷藏的臍帶血仍可施用於病人33

    相反,坊間其他臍帶血庫聲稱幹細胞只需在 -135℃ 便可作永久保存並沒有依據,而且使用傳統氣態氮儲存系統會使每次樣本存取時令系統內因氣體流失以致氣溫不穩,嚴重影響系統內所有樣本的幹細胞活性。

  • 收集臍帶血的過程對孕婦及嬰兒存有風險?

    收集臍帶血的過程非常簡單,而且對孕婦及嬰兒而言絕對安全及不會引起痛楚。當孕婦分娩後,婦產科醫生會從已剪斷的臍帶及已排出孕婦體外的胎盤中收集臍帶血,所以孕婦及嬰兒均不會感到任何痛楚或影響整個分娩程序。

    有關收集臍帶血的步驟可以瀏覽臍帶血收集流程

  • 可否將臍帶血及臍帶運送至海外進行移植?

    每位客戶所儲存的臍帶血及臍帶並不局限於只在香港地區使用,生寶可按照客戶的需求將臍帶血及臍帶運送至海外地區,但需是乎當地法例是否許可。

    有關詳情可以透過聯絡生寶的方式向我們查詢。