The MSCs in umbilical cord are able to minimize Graft Versus Host Disease (GvHD) in directed and unrelated allogeneic cord blood transplants. It can be applied to chronic illnesses treatment, regenerative medicines as well as organ and tissue engineering. In addition, At present, there are more than 880 MSCs clinical trials6,7, including stroke, spinal cord, injury, diabetes and bone fractures, etc. Researches of stem cells therapy are growing worldwide, where MSCs become mainstream research topic, the researches mainly focus on malignancy(cancer), neurological, musculoskeletal and cardiovascular diseases, it demonstrates MSCs in umbilical cord can be used quite widely in medical aspect.

MSCs already have the same ability of EpSCs and even more powerful. Researches showed that MSCs can be induced into Induced Pluripotent Stem Cells(iPSCs)10, which have greater differentiation capacity than Epithelial Stem Cells (EpSCs) and it can be directly differentiated into EpSCs11. Thus, MSCs already have the same ability of EpSCs and even more powerful, i.e. formation of various epithelial cells12 and with the same medical application for treating acute burn and diabetic foot etc.

HealthBaby Consultant
 

Storing Epithelial Stem Cells is Unnecessary

Indeed, Epithelia Stem Cells (EpSCs) are mainly used for skin healing with limited function, while MSCs application is much more extensive. Parents are not recommended to keep EpSCs at unreasonable high cost. Moreover, MSCs become mainstream research topic for their great potential, parents should cryopreserve the primitive MSCs for future use.

HealthBaby Consultant

 

Comparison of MSCs Sources


Items

No. of MSCs / 200 million TNCs

Umbilical Cord 600,600 units
Adult Bone Marrow 200 units
Cord Blood 100 units

 

The Variation of MSCs & Against Age


 

You may also be interested in...


Why Bank Cord Blood

Why Cord Blood?

At present, up to 113 diseases can be treated by cord blood5,6, and there are over 40,000 successful transplant cases in the world5...

Stem Cells News

Stem Cells News

There are many successful transplant cases performing in the world, let's discover their potential...

Patented Technology

Patented Technology

HealthBaby exclusively extracting the whole cord tissue which can fully enhance the quantity and viability of tissue cells after thawing....

臍帶內的間質幹細胞除可減低近親及異體臍帶血移植出現排斥的機會外,更可用於治療後天的慢性疾病、器官老化及組織再生修復等醫學領域上。目前,已有超過 750 項間質幹細胞的臨床研究在進行中6,7,當中包括中風、脊髓受損、糖尿病及骨折等疾病。國際上有關幹細胞治療的研究與日俱增,其中間質幹細胞更成為主流研究對象,研究方向主要針對惡性腫瘤(癌症)、神經、肌肉骨骼及心血管方面的疾病,可見臍帶間質幹細胞的醫學用途會相當廣泛。

研究報告指出間質幹細胞可以誘導為誘導性多功能幹細胞10,是比上皮幹細胞更具有各種分化潛能的幹細胞,並能直接分化為上皮幹細胞11因此,間質幹細胞已擁有上皮幹細胞的功能,包括轉化為各種上皮幹細胞的能力及相同的醫療應用,例如治療燒傷,糖尿病腳等12


生寶臍帶血庫專業顧問
 

母需額外付費儲存上皮幹細胞

由於上皮幹細胞主要用於治療皮膚損傷,其功能遠遠不及間質幹細胞廣泛,所以父母無需繳付額外的費用儲存上皮幹細胞。而且隨著臍帶間質幹細胞的發展漸趨成熟,其功用亦越來越廣泛,主流細胞研究亦是使用間質幹細胞,所以父母更應該保留最原始的間質幹細胞,以備將來不時之需。

生寶臍帶血庫專業顧問

 

間質幹細胞的來源比較


項目

每二億顆有核細胞中「間質幹細胞」的含量

臍帶 600,600 顆
成人骨髓 200 顆
臍帶血 100 顆

 

年齡與間質幹細胞的含量變化


 

您可能也會對以下文章感興趣...


為何儲存臍帶血

為何儲存臍帶血?

臍帶血具珍貴醫療價值,目前已被證實可用於治療高達 113 種疾病5,6,全球更有超過 宗成功利用臍帶血救活病人的移植案例5

臍帶血及臍帶治療案例

最新治療及臨床研究資訊

為了能夠令各位父母對臍帶血及臍帶資訊有更深厚的認識,生寶會定期更新世界各地的最新移植案例…

獨家研發臍帶專利技術

獨家研發臍帶專利技術

生寶的臍帶技術已獲香港、美國、台灣及中國專利認可,此專利是現存唯一涵蓋完整臍帶組織,並配有獨特臍帶處理、儲存及培養技術…