Today, more than 1,000 clinical trials are on-going worldwide to uncover the potential of MSCs. Thus far, encouraging results have been published1; stem cell treatments have been proven safe and capable of repairing damage caused by stroke and heart disease. MSCs have also been used in combination with HSCs as a dual therapy to promote faster engraftment of HSCs and to reduce immune system complications2.

Although there is evidence that MSC can change to certain types of EC (not stem cells), these cells cannot be changed into Epithelial Stem Cells (EpSC). The difference between EpSC and EC is that EpSC can differentiate into all different EC types such as skin, cornea, lining of the gut, etc. on demand. Whereas ECs have already reached terminal differentiation so these cells cannot be further differentiated into other EC types when needed. Thus, MSC and EpSC cannot be replaced by each other.

Types of Stem Cells

Mesenchymal Stem Cells (MSCs)

Epithelial Stem Cells (EpSCs)

Potential Treatment for

Tissue repair

  • Cardiovascular diseases(e.g. Cardiac muscle repair)
  • Orthopaedic applications(Osteoarthritis, cartilage and tendon repair)
  • Pulmonary fibrosis
  • Stroke
  • Neurodegenerative diseases:
    • Autism spectrum disorder (ASD)
    • Alzheimer's disease
    • Parkinson's disease
    • Cerebral palsy and paralysis
    • Global developmental delay
  • Spinal cord injury
  • Liver regeneration from liver failure

Hscs Engraftment Support

  • Shorten time of engraftment
  • Reduce immune system complications

Immune modulation

  • Prevention and treatment of graft versus host disease (GvHD)
  • Diabetes: Type 1 and 2
  • HIV
  • Crohn’s disease

Wounds/soft tissue repair

  • Disorder of upper respiratory system (eg: Repair and regeneration of bronchial epithelium for smokers)
  • Surface ulcer (Diabetic)
  • Various types of burn
  • Tissue trauma
  • Skin wounds
  • Epidermal reconstitution

Organ Lining Regeneration

  • Disorder of upper respiratory system (eg: Repair and regeneration of bronchial epithelium for smokers)
  • Liver lining
  • Pancreatic lining
  • Gastrointestinal lining

Eye Conditions

  • Corneal dermoid
  • Corneal scars and opacities
  • Corneal ulcers
  • Dry eye syndromes
  • Eye injury (eg. Chemical burn)
  • Limbal deficiency
  • Limbal corneal insufficiency syndrome
  • Macular degenerative diseases:
    • Age related
    • Myopic
    • Stargardt's macular dystrophy
  • Ocular surface disease
  • Pterygium
  • Ocular damage due to stevens johnson syndrome
什麼是臍帶?

Umbilical cord is the tube connecting the fetus and placenta. It contains rich sources of, Epithelial Stem Cells (EpSCs), Mesenchymal Stem Cells (MSCs) and able to differentiate into various tissues and organ cells, including cardiac, nerve, cartilage / bone, muscle and epithelial cells etc. Researches showed that MSCs can stimuate body's regeneration and the reaction of immune system It's a multi-potential cell.

為何儲存臍帶?

The EpSCs and MSCs in umbilical cord are able to minimize Graft Versus Host Disease (GvHD) in directed and unrelated allogeneic cord blood transplants. It can be applied to chronic illnesses treatment, regenerative medicines as well as organ and tissue engineering. In addition, At present, there are more than 980 EpSCs and MSCs clinical trials6,7, including Alzheimer’s disease, stroke, liver cirrhosis,diabetes, spinal cord injury and bone fractures, etc.

臍帶收集流程

Umbilical cord lining collection will be performed after collecting cord blood by Obstetrics & Gynaecology doctors. Certainly, the process is absolutely safe and painless for both mother and infant.

臍帶臨床研究

At present, there are more than 980 MSCs clinical trials6,7, which can be classified as Auto-immune Diseases, Cardiovascular, Neurologic Disorder, Orthopedic and Gene Therapy for Inherited Disorders etc.

為何儲存臍帶?

時至今日,已經有超過 1,000 項臨床試驗發掘間質幹細胞的潛力1,至今試驗結果令人鼓舞。幹細胞療法已被證實安全及有效修復由中風及心臟病造成的損傷。間質幹細胞也可結合造血幹細胞進行治療,幫助加快造血幹細胞植入,並減少移植時出現免疫系統併發症2

雖然有證據顯示間質幹細胞可分化成某些上皮細胞(非幹細胞),但間質幹細胞絕不可能轉化成上皮幹細胞。上皮幹細胞和上皮細胞的分別,在於上皮幹細胞可因應不同需要分化成特定的上皮細胞,如:皮膚、角膜、腸的軟組織等,每一種上皮細胞均是從上皮幹細胞經特定的終極轉化過程而形成,沒有能力再進一步按需要轉化成其他上皮細胞。因此,間質幹細胞和上皮幹細胞是不可互相替代的。


幹細胞來源

間質幹細胞(MSCs)

上皮幹細胞(EpSCs)

可治療疾病

修復組織

  • 心血管疾病(例如:心肌修復)
  • 骨科應用(骨關節炎, 軟骨和肌腱修復)
  • 肺纖維化
  • 中風
  • 神經退行性疾病
    • 自閉症(ASD)
    • 阿爾茨海默氏病
    • 柏金遜症
    • 腦麻痹和癱瘓
    • 整體發展遲緩
  • 脊髓損傷
  • 肝衰竭引起的肝再生

輔助造血幹細胞(臍帶血)的移植

  • 縮短幹細胞被受贈者接受的時間
  • 減少免疫系統併發症

免疫系統調節

  • 抗宿主疾病(GvHD)移植排斥作用
  • 糖尿病: 甲型和乙型
  • 愛滋病
  • 克羅恩病

傷口/軟組織修復

  • 上呼吸道疾病(例如:吸煙者的支氣管上皮的修復和再生)
  • 表面潰瘍(糖尿病)
  • 各種類型的燒傷
  • 皮膚創傷
  • 皮膚傷口
  • 皮膚表皮重建

器官軟組織再生

  • 肝軟組織
  • 胰腺軟組織
  • 胃腸道軟組織

眼疾病

  • 角膜皮樣瘤
  • 角膜不透明和疤痕
  • 角膜潰瘍
  • 乾眼症
  • 眼睛受傷(例如:化學灼傷)
  • 缺乏角膜緣
  • 角膜緣幹細胞缺乏症
  • 黃斑變性疾病:
    • 與年齡相關
    • 與近視相關
    • 隱性黃斑營養不良
  • 眼表疾病
  • 翼狀胬肉
  • 史蒂文斯
  • 詹森綜合症引起的眼部損害
1 ClinicalTrials.gov. Accessed August 20, 2019. (http://www.clinicaltrials.gov/ct2/resul class="normalList"ts?term=mesenchymal+stem+cells) 2 Battiwalla M, Hematti P. 2010. Cytotherapy. 1 January 2010.
什麼是臍帶?

臍帶是指連結嬰兒和胎盤的營養輸送管道,有別於臍帶血,臍帶內含有另一種豐富的幹細胞,稱為「間質幹細胞」,能夠分化成多種組織和器官細胞,包括心臟、神經、軟硬骨、肌肉、皮膚細胞等。研究更發現間質幹細胞能啟動身體再生機能及調節免疫系統反應,是一種多潛能的細胞。

為何儲存臍帶?

臍帶膜內的間質幹細胞除可減低近親及異體臍帶血移植出現排斥的機會外,更可用於治療後天的慢性疾病、器官老化及組織再生修復等醫學領域上。目前,已有超過 980 項間質幹細胞的臨床研究在進行中6,7,當中包括腦退化症、中風、肝硬化、糖尿病、脊髓受損及骨折等疾病。

臍帶收集流程

當婦產科醫生完成收集臍帶血後便會收集臍帶,收集臍帶的過程亦不會對孕婦及嬰兒引起不適,而且絕對安全。

臍帶臨床研究

目前有超過 980 項的臍帶臨床研究正在進行中6,7,當中可分為自身免疫系統受損、心臟血管疾病、神經系統疾病、整形外科、基因療法治療遺傳疾病等範疇。